Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Paraguay jointly bid for 2030 World Cup

MONTEVIDEO, URUGUAY - AUGUST 02:Robert Harrison president of the Paraguayan Football Association , Sebastian Bauza national sports secretary, Alejandro Dominguez president of Conmebol, Ignacio Alonso president of the Uruguayan Football Association, Pablo Milad president of the Chilean Football Federation and Rodolfo D'Onofrio vice president of the Argentine Football Association, during the announcement of the joint candidacy between Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay to host the FIFA 2030 Men's World Cup at Centenario Stadium on August 2, 2022 in Montevideo, Uruguay. (Photo by Sandro Pereyra/FIFA via Getty Images)

Argentina, Uruguay, Chile and Paraguay have launched a joint bid for the FIFA World Cup in 2030, football executives and political leaders of the four South American countries said on Tuesday.

“One hundred years [since the first World Cup] will be achieved only once. And it has to come back home,” South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) President Alejandro Dominguez said at a press conference. “We believe that is more than enough of a reason for FIFA to accept that this becomes the only bid.”

Argentina, Uruguay and Chile have all hosted the World Cup before. Uruguay hosted it and won the title in 1930, which was the first edition of the tournament.

Argentina hosted the World Cup in 1978 and won the championship for the first time before doing it again in 1986 in Mexico. Chile was the host in 1962 and made it to the semifinals where they lost to the final champions Brazil.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The South American quartet will face competitions from a European pair of Spain and Portugal. Spain hosted the World Cup in 1982 when Italy won the title.

FIFA will decide the 2023 hosts in 2024, six years before the event.

The last time the top global football event happened in South America was in 2014 when Brazil suffered one of the most humiliating losses against Germany 7-1 at home and had to watch Germany and Argentina, their long-term rivals, competing for the title in the final at Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro.

The 2022 World Cup will take place in Qatar from November 21 to December 18, for the first time in winter. In another four years, the U.S., Canada and Mexico will jointly host the tournament in 2026 with 48 teams competing.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

From Our Newsroom


Marcus Rashford will not leave Manchester United this summer despite interest from Paris Saint-Germain. United have issued a hand-off warning after it emerged Rashford’s...


The proposed $24 million settlement between U.S. women soccer players and the sport’s American governing body was given preliminary approval Thursday by a federal...


FIFA has moved the start of the Qatar World Cup forward by a day, meaning the tournament will now begin on Sunday, Nov. 20,...

Team Nigeria

Nigeria’s Falconets got their campaign at this year’s FIFA women’s World Cup in Costa Rica off to a winning start after edging France 1-0...